| my account | login-logout | resources | support | catalog | home | get webcard |

Online Classroom

search | help desk | commons
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Online Classroom   » Celestial Navigation   » Public Discussion of Cel Nav   » Which Almanac/Sight Reduction Table should I buy?

Author Topic: Which Almanac/Sight Reduction Table should I buy?
BOF

- posted January 14, 2009 07:02 AM      Profile for BOF           Edit/Delete Post 
(Posted at the request of David)

I am just getting started in the art of celestial navigation, and am seeking advice on which pubs to buy for use.

Can I get by with just the Nautical Almanac, or will I also need copies of HO229 or HO249?

If I need copies of HO229/HO249, which volumes should I get?

And what are the advantages and disadvantages of using HO229 as opposed to using HO249 (or vice versa)?

Capt Steve Miller

- posted January 14, 2009 08:02 AM      Profile for Capt Steve Miller           Edit/Delete Post 
A Nautical Almanac is the first reference to purchase and is vital to Celestial Navigation. It includes the commonly refered to NAO tables that perform Sight Reduction. This means only one book needed.

That being said the 249 Sight Reduction Tables are the most common tables used and are probably the easiest to learn, these were developed for air use. There are 3 volumes to the set. Volume One for selected stars, Volume Two and Three are Latitude based, so your Latitude of operations will dictate which you would purchase.

The 229 Sight Reduction Tables, developed for marine use, consists of nine volumes again based on Latitude in 15° increments. There is an extra step involved in Sight Reduction with 229 as opposed to 249. So, again your Latitude of operations would dictate which one or two volumes you would need.