| my account | login-logout | resources | support | catalog | home | get webcard |

Online Classroom

search | help desk | commons
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Online Classroom   » Celestial Navigation   » Public Discussion of Cel Nav   » Dip error bay of fundy

Author Topic: Dip error bay of fundy
Capt Ahab

- posted January 24, 2013 09:27 PM      Profile for Capt Ahab           Edit/Delete Post 
apologies in advance if necessary for my question if not appropriate (new Here). I am a mechanical engineer and licensed master who owns a small coastal vessel for diving and lobster, fish,sealwatching, etc.in Noank ,CT. I also was a sailor in my younger days as well, and wish I could do both. I am however determined to maintain the old time skills being lost to time, including celestial navigation.
Anyway, this one has bugged me for awhile: If I stand on a cliff overlooking the bay of fundy, and a man on a vessel is at my height next to the cliff, we have the same dip correction.

If I stand on the same cliff at low tide, and the man is now 50 ' below me still afloat. And I correct Hs for dip (e.g. add the additonal 50' to my original correction), and his dip is unchanged e.g.same deck, same man, same boat, same ocean.
Our dip corrections are very different, but do we get the same positional answer assuming identical sights otherwise?

Perhaps a bit of a dumb question,as open sea navigation is comparatively free of such extreme differences, which are more earth/shore contour related. On the other hand, the closer I come to a shore, the more accurate I would prefer to be, and the more effect land contour has on the observed height of the water.