| my account | login-logout | resources | support | catalog | home | get webcard |

Online Classroom

search | help desk | commons
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Online Classroom   » Celestial Navigation   » Public Discussion of Cel Nav   » Altitude intercept (a-value)

Author Topic: Altitude intercept (a-value)
RTM

- posted September 14, 2015 08:56 PM      Profile for RTM           Edit/Delete Post 
I recently started learning celestial navigation using David Burch's 2nd edition which I believe is a good book.
I'm trying to understand why if Hc is > than Ho then the LOP is away from the azimuth line by the difference in minutes from Hc to Ho. I have reviewed this relationship several times but I'm missing something. The sextant observed height measurement and the calculated height with respect to the why the LOP is away or towards the GP.

Capt Steve Miller

- posted September 15, 2015 09:05 AM      Profile for Capt Steve Miller           Edit/Delete Post 
I think that the attached drawing will clear up the question you have posted.

David Burch

- posted September 15, 2015 10:28 AM      Profile for David Burch           Edit/Delete Post 
You might also want to skip ahead to chapter 10 where the theory of these issues is explained. That way you see the fuller picture of what is involved. (The sketch above is a valuable schematic way to see what is going on in your question, but the full picture needs the concept of parallel light rays.)
RTM

- posted September 15, 2015 10:20 PM      Profile for RTM           Edit/Delete Post 
Steve, David, thank you for the feedback, it was helpful. The drawing is good I have been wondering which angle was the reference. I know now the reference angle at AP is the Hc. Therefore Ho > Hc = toward, Ho < Hc away. I have referred to Chapter 10 very helpful.
I would appreciate your comments on the following: