| my account | login-logout | resources | support | catalog | home | get webcard |

Online Classroom

search | help desk | commons
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Online Classroom   » Celestial Navigation   » Public Discussion of Cel Nav   » Star Pilot Problems

Author Topic: Star Pilot Problems
sholekamp

- posted March 25, 2012 08:15 AM      Profile for sholekamp           Edit/Delete Post 
I am new to the Star Pilot software. I have completed the Starpath celestial course and am using problems from the book to learn to use the Star Pilot. I am having trouble getting answers to compare. example - Comparing the answers from problem 9.4a, the book answer is a = 25.3 T and Zn = 205. When I plug in the figures from the problem into Star Pilot, I get In(nm) = 48.10 and Zn 205.3. I am assuming that "a" should be very close to "In(nm)," correct? Any idea where I am going wrong?
Capt Steve Miller

- posted March 25, 2012 08:53 AM      Profile for Capt Steve Miller           Edit/Delete Post 
I suspect that you used the given DR position. When using the SP program to compare its results with the book (manual using tables) results you must use the same parameters. This means using the Latitude you use when entering the tables, in this example using 45° N NOT the DR Latitude 44°58' and using the Assumed Longitude 122° 04.5'W instead of the given DR Longitude of 122° 24' W. When using those parameters I got an 'a' of 25.0 and a Zn of 205.8°T
sholekamp

- posted March 26, 2012 06:49 AM      Profile for sholekamp           Edit/Delete Post